Skip to main content
< All Topics
Print

Is DumpStack.log Safe to Delete (Windows)?

Yes, it is safe to delete DumpStack.log.

What is DumpStack.log?

This file is created by the Windows kernel. The purpose of this log file is to keep record of the “stack” (sequence of functions the CPU was running) at a time of a system crash. If your computer ever experienced a Blue Screen of Death (BSOD), Windows uses this file to help write memory dump for informational purposes. It is useful for developers or IT professionals use to diagnose the cause of a system crash.

Is it a critical file?

Deleting it will not break your Windows installation, slow down your computer, or cause your apps to stop working. It’s simply a log file.

You might get an “Access Denied” error upon deletion.

Since it is a file created by the system kernel, you may need administrator rights to delete the file.

It will likely come back. Even if you delete it, Windows may create the file automatically the next time the system boots or if another system error occurs.

Should you delete it?

  • If you are trying to save space: The file is very small (kilobytes – kb), so deleting it wont’t free up much room.
  • If you are cleaning up your drive: Feel free to delete it.

Summary

If it’s bothering you or feel like it’s cluttering your system, feel free to delete it. If Windows won’t let you delete it it, make sure you have administrative rights on the user account you are using to enable the ability to delete the file.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Table of Contents